Two for two! First Measure C, now Measure L passed by a landslide

Together we can help keep Hayward moving forward

"Measure L passes by a landslide"

The Daily Review 
November 4, 2014
by Rebecca Parr

With more than two-thirds of precincts reporting, Measure L appeared headed for a landslide victory in Hayward. Voters there were approving the $229 million bond measure to rebuild or replace four schools, construct science-technology centers at the high schools, renovate athletic fields, build a performing arts center and upgrade school buildings.Measure L needs 55 percent of the vote to win. 


Read more
Add your reaction Share

Measure C funding priorities

On June 3, 2014, Hayward voters overwhelmingly approved Measure C by a 2-to-1 margin. Measure C is projected to raise approximately $10 million per year for critical City facilities and services. This chart shows how Measure C funding is supposed to be spent. These funding priorities were discussed and approved by Council when they placed Measure C on the ballot by a unanimous vote on March 4, 2014. These priorities were confirmed by thousands of Hayward residents in multiple city-wide surveys, and again when the voters approved Measure C.

The complete staff report and presentation are available on the City's website. 

Add your reaction Share

Measure C passes by 2-to-1 margin

Hayward: Measure C sales tax increase passes

By Rebecca Parr The Daily Review
POSTED: 06/03/2014 8:00 PM 

HAYWARD -- A half-cent sales tax to build a new library and improve public safety won by a 2-to-1 margin. With all precincts reporting, the Measure C tax measure easily garnered its required simple majority to pass.

Read more
Add your reaction Share

Join the team


Endorse Measure C

(as of 4/27/2014)

Hon. Eric Swalwell, Congressman, 15th District of California
Hon. Ellen Corbett, California State Senate Majority Leader, 10th  District
Hon. Bill Quirk, California State Assemblymember, 20th Assembly District

Michael Sweeney, Mayor of Hayward
Barbara Halliday, Hayward City Council Member
Mark Salinas, Hayward City Council Member
Francisco Zermeño, Hayward City Council Member
Greg Jones, Hayward City Council Member
Al Mendall, Hayward City Council Member
Marvin Peixoto, Hayward City Council Member

The Daily Review / The Oakland Tribune  / The Contra Costa Times 
League of Women Voters of the Eden Area
The Democratic Party of Alameda County
American Association of University Women Hayward-Castro Valley
Building & Construction Trades Council of Alameda County
Friends of the Hayward Public Library

Charles C. Plummer, Alameda County Sheriff Emeritus 
Minane Jameson, Board of Directors, Hayward Area Recreation & Park District
Paul Hodges, Board of Directors, Hayward Area Recreation & Park District
Dennis Waespi, Board of Directors, Hayward Area Recreation & Park District
Marshall Mitzman, Trustee, Chabot - Las Positas Community College District
Jeff Bowser, Trustee, Pleasanton Unified School District
Lisa Brunner, Trustee, Hayward Unified School District

Roberta "Bertie" Cooper, Hayward Mayor Emeritus
Doris J. Rodriquez, Hayward City Council Member (Ret.) & 55-year Hayward resident
Kevin Dowling, Hayward City Council Member (Ret.)
Barbara Sacks, Hayward Planning Commissioner (Ret.)
Betty J. Moose, Trustee (Ret.), San Lorenzo Unified School District

Rodney Loché, Hayward Planning Commissioner
Sara Lamnin, Hayward Planning Commissioner
Kari McAllister, Chairperson, Hayward Library Commission
Pedro Reynoso, Hayward Library Commissioner
Peter Bufete, Hayward Library Commissioner

Elaine J. Sunday, President, Hayward Neighborhood Alert
Robert Sakai, Attorney & 60-year Hayward resident
Maria Ochoa, Executive Director, Chabot College Foundation
Joel Thornley, Superintendent of Hayward Schools (Ret.)
Julie McKillop, CPA, Educator, and Restaurateur
Rocky Fernandez, Public Policy Analyst
Phillip Gallegos, Performing Arts Technician

Judy Harrison, President, Friends of the Hayward Public Library
Richard Imsdahl, President, Hayward Literacy Council
Evelyn Cormier, Friends of the Hayward Public Library
René Besold, Vice President, Hayward Literacy Council
Chad & Shelby Haacke, Hayward Library Volunteers

Betty DeForest, Director Emeritus, South Hayward Parish
Lynne Clifton, Hayward Resident
Jennifer S. Gonsalves, Teacher, Hayward Unified School District
Elisa Márquez, Court Investigator, AlamedaCountySuperior Court

View Full List of Endorsements 

Endorse Measure C

Add your reaction Share